Tag: The Podcamp Toronto Meme

On the eve of Podcamp Toronto 2009, I thought I would revisit the  The Official Podcamp Toronto Meme I seeded 2 years ago for Podcamp Toronto 2007.  If you are coming to Podcamp Toronto, or wish you could be with us this weekend, consider yourself tagged.

A meme is  one of those chain lettery questionnaire things that bloggers pass around on slow Colbert days. You’ve all been tagged. On your blog, podcast, these comments or the google group answer these questions:

  1. What are your personal goals for Podcamp?
  2. What do you want to learn?
  3. What are you offering to share/teach others at Podcamp?
  4. A little homework now: Which podcamp registrants would you like to meet? Why?
  5. Who is your “dream interview” for your podcast? Why?
  6. What is your, “Can’t miss it” session at podcamp?
  7. Monetize or Communitize?
  8. Who would win in a  cage match:  Chris Brogan, Bob Goyetche, My Marilyn, or Scarborough Dude?
  9. In time honored meme tradition– guilt a few more people into carrying on this meme.

Remember to tag your posts #pcto09 or podcamptoronto
And my answers:

1. What are your personal goals for Podcamp? When I came to Podcamp Toronto 2007, I was very much the new guy in the community.  As a podcamp blogger people knew who I was, but I had never met any of them face to face.  When I entered the building there was Chris Brogan at the foot of the stairs offering Free Hugs.  I felt instantly welcome and like I belonged.  My goal for Podcamp is that I want to be that guy.  I want to help introduce people to each other and to the podcamp community.

2. What do you want to learn? As the years have gone by (all 3 of them) I have become most interest in how podcasting and social media can foster relationships, ignite friendships and help to facilitate and grow communities.  I’m interested in hearing how other businesses, churches, community groups, governmental agencies, bands, artists and other are using new media to build relationships and community.

3. What are you offering to share/teach others at Podcamp? I’m on 2 panels right now:  The First Church of Facebook, a panel discussing how churches and people of faith are using new media; and an Audacity 101 tutorial with Bob Goyetche.  I also love to have wide ranging conversations about making music, tech, podcasting, community building, faith, teaching, linux …   When I went to Podcamp Boston I spent almost all my time in the halls talking with people.  (Podcamp secret number 1– The best action happens in the hall conversations).   The halls at RCC are HUGE.   Even if we have a gazillion people at podcamp, there will be plenty of room for everyone to meet in small groups for informal discussions.

4. A little homework now: Which podcamp registrants would you like to meet? Why?  I’ve been to several events where Brian Hogg and Peter O’ Connell were present but I’ve never had a chance to talk to them in person.  I’d also like to meet with Angelo Mandalo from Blubrry.  I would like to thank as many of our sponsors as I can in person.  Most of all, I would like to meet you. Please introduce yourself to me at podcamp.  I’ll be the guy in the duct tape hat.

5. Who is your “dream interview” for your podcast? Why?  In over two years of interview people for the Podcamp Toronto Podcast, The Librivox Community Podcast, and my own podcasts, For the Sake of the Song and The Catholic New Media Roundup, I have been very fortunate at being able to interview almost anybody I asked.  (Podcamp secret number 2:  It never hurts to ask a question.  You’ll find lots of people here quite willing to help you find answers).
6. What is your, “Can’t miss it” session at podcamp?  Charting the History of Podcasting in Canada - with Tracy Fuller
7. Monetize or Communitize?  Definitely communitize.

8. Who would win in a cage match: Chris Brogan, Bob Goyetche, My Marilyn, or Scarborough Dude?  I have no idea, but I would pay admission to see it.

9. In time honored meme tradition– guilt a few more people into carrying on this meme.  Anyone coming to podcamp, jump in.

Now remember the rules kids.  If I don’t get any responses, I’m posting pictures of kittens.

Really!

I’ll do it this time.

I mean it.

The Answers are Rolling in:

Karim Kanji

Peter O’Connell: the podcamp toronto meme

One Response to “Tag: The Podcamp Toronto Meme”

  1. Peter O'Connell Says:

    Look for my blog’s meme tonight.

    Sean I’ll see you and hopefully many others on Sunday!

    Best always,
    - Peter


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

